A Carolina Hurricanes blog with occasional news about the rest of the NHL.

Wednesday, April 12, 2006

Red Wings clinch President's Trophy.

Congratulations are in order for the Detroit Red Wings, who on Tuesday clinched the President's Trophy. This is the fifth time Detroit has won the trophy for best record in the league, and it is the 20th time the trophy has been awarded.

Before Wings fans make plans to drink motor oil out of the Stanley Cup, they should be alerted to the fact that only six teams who have won the Presidents Trophy have gone on to win the Cup:

  • 1987 Edmonton Oilers
  • 1989 Calgary Flames
  • 1994 New York Rangers
  • 1999 Dallas Stars
  • 2001 Colorado Avalanche
  • 2002 Detroit Red Wings

Clearly, at this point, they look like the team to beat, but we'll see what the playoffs have in store.

1 comment:

The Acid Queen said...


I still can't watch any of my playoff tapes from that season--mostly because my husband taped Buffy the Vampire Slayer over them, just to spite me.


Red And Black Hockey is not affiliated with or endorsed by the Carolina Hurricanes Hockey Club, the National Hockey League or any of its other member clubs. The opinions expressed herein are entirely those of RBH. Any comments made are the opinion of the commenter, and not necessarily that of RBH.
Whenever possible, RBH uses its own photography. Any incidental use of copyrighted material including photography, logos or other brand markings will not interfere with the owner's profits.